I’ve always been questioned about how I manage so many things. Apparently, I make it look easy. Trust me, it’s a struggle! I do have a lot on my plate, and no I don’t regret anything. I just make time for everything.

So, apart from working, being a good daughter, wife and mommy, I chose to pursue Music. I’m not perfect, but I do my best. I practice, to try and be perfect.

I practice during the weekends since I have time on my hands, and I practice for quite a few hours at a stretch. In my house, we have converted the basement into the ‘Music Area’ and that’s where I go for my practice sessions. I always make my Mum sit with me, I absolutely can’t practice without her.

I do go for training/classes, because I believe that learning never stops! I have three teachers and I attend classes on Saturdays. I am currently training in Classical Music, Semi Classical Bengali Music (Nazrul Geeti, Shyama Sangeet, etc.) as well as Thumri and Dadra. I learn so much more every week, and it makes me feel good knowing that I can be much better at what I’m doing by acquiring more knowledge about it. I also do a lot of riyaaz of Alankars and Taans.

I am a vocalist, and practising for hours on end can actually cause harm to my throat. I balance it out by taking lots of short breaks to give my voice a rest. I also drink a lot of hot ginger tea while I practice. It gives me relief and the ability to practice longer!

